i remember

My husband and I were watching the 911 tribute on the History Channel this evening. The kids were playing in the other room and were not paying much attention to what we were watching.  When they came in the living room and their little eyes attached themselves to the tribute we were watching, I could see the wheels begin to turn in their innocent little minds.   Following were their comments: Jonah ( 6 yo) asked..”mama, is that going to happen to us” and Emma Rose (2 yo) “why are all the girls crying”….. and Jacob ( 4 yo) “what happened mama, those are firemen, what’s going on”…. they are so young, what do I tell them? They still have their innocence and feel free & safe in this country. Not sure if I want them to know the reality of this day, just yet.  We decided to focus more on true heroes that help protect us and our country.  The boys are really into army men and firemen right now, so we could easily explain how those heroes on the television were protecting America.

What a hard decision as a parent to make.  We teach honesty in our home and always want to be truthful with our children.  However, at the same time, we wanted to protect their innocence and young little minds.

Thank you Lord, for giving us discernment at the very moment we needed it when speaking to our children regarding the 911 tragedy.  May you protect their little minds.  Thank you that in Christ we all have freedom and that you are greater than any evil that could ever try to rise in our country. In Jesus name, Amen!

Luke 6:27-28: “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”

Psalm 119:45 (NIV): I will walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts.

Isaiah 61:1-2 (NIV): The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners

Love this quote from Billy Graham: “Yes, our nation has been attacked, buildings destroyed, lives lost. But now we have a choice: whether to implode and disintegrate emotionally and spiritually as a people and a nation; or to choose to become stronger through all of this struggle, to rebuild on a solid foundation.”

I still remember vividly the day of events in my life as 911 happened.  I had worked night shift at the hospital and was at home sleeping in order to go back to work that night.  Mid morning, I heard this crazy noise at the upstairs window to my bedroom in my townhouse.  It was loud enough to wake me up from my deep sleep.  I went to the window and saw my dad with a broom in his hand beating on the window.  I was so confused.  Why in the world was my dad (who lived over an hour away) at my house.  He tried his best to wake me by ringing the door bell and knocking on my door. I am so glad he was persistent.  He told me that he drove to my house to tell me about the tragedy that had just occurred in our country.  He didn’t want me to wake up, turn on the television and be terrified about the news events while I was at home all by myself.  Together, we watched the devastating broadcasts and he was with me while I cried and cried over the sad news. I was so thankful that my dad cared enough to be with me on that very sad, yet memorable day.

Leave a Reply

