ten painters

Therefore let us approach the throne of grace with boldness, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us at the proper time (Hebrews 4:16).

 

I read this scripture when I woke up this am for my time alone with God.  I had my cup of coffee in one hand and this verse I pulled from a christian magazine in the other. To be honest with you, I couldn’t put either one of them down.  The words spoken in Hebrews through the apostle Paul penetrated my heart this morning.  I have always loved this verse and have quoted it to others on many occasions.  But for some reason, it spoke to me in a different volume today.  I couldn’t take my mind off of the words approach, boldness and proper time.  If any of you have ever had bible study with me in the past year, you know that I was BASKing this scripture all day in my head.  For those of you who have no clue what BASKing is, it is s simple tool that I use to break down and understand scripture on a personal level.

Approach, boldness and proper time were a part of my thought process constantly through out this day.  I was thoroughly enjoying what God had to say through His word.  However, it wasn’t until much later into the early evening, did this verse actually come alive for me.  Just hold your horses, because boy oh boy do I have a “God is good” story for you!

As many of you know, Jeff and I, through faith and trust in the Lord, recently opened an indoor play and party center for children.  Opening a business with the poor economic times that we all are facing, is rather difficult.  Let’s just say, at times, the income does not match up to the outflow for the business.  A few months back, we started having a monthly mommy & me painting party and it is a blast.  In order to have the class, the painter needs at least 5 kids minimum signed up.  I texted her 2 days ago to let her know that we had 5 kids signed up.  She replied, “that is great, but I am praying for 10.”  I replied ” I agree with you and where two or more are gathered in His name, there He is in the midst of them.”  Well, when the class started this afternoon, we had 7 kids signed up.  Crissy and I were very thankful for the 7 and proceeded with the class.  As she was about to start, a family walked in asking if there were 3 seats together.  Let me do the math for you 7 + 3= 10!!!  God is soooo good!  We approached the throne of grace with much boldness by asking for 10 painters.  Did the Lord have them sign up immediately? NO.  He did, however, in the proper time (which for us was right as the class started) have 3 more join in on the fun. After the class, Crissy and I were basically in tears as we rejoiced over the goodness of the Lord and how his love was poured upon us today through answered prayer.

God’s word tells us to come to Him with anything and not to be afraid.  He even loves us enough to say that if we would only have enough faith, small as the size of a piece of mustard seed, that He could move mountains.  (Deuteronomy 31:6; Matthew 17:20) Are you approaching the throne of grace with boldness? I encourage you to do so and trust me when I say, you won’t be disappointed.

2 thoughts on “ten painters

  1. Em

    I love you so & am always encouraged by you! This verse brought tears to my eyes! I’ve always loved it too! So thankful God’s given us each other to boldly approach together!!

    Reply
  2. Charlotte

    Love, love, love it! You keep basking and you keep sharing! So thankful for how He moves through the lives of you and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

