believing reveals glory

I am very eager and excited to share with you the remaining verses from John Chapter 11.  I am partial to these scriptures because they reveal the glory of the Lord.  Although I fall short on a daily, ok hourly basis, my heart’s desire is to glorify the Lord in everything that I do.  My prayer is that after reading the following scriptures, you are eager to believe and will have tasted His amazing glory.

John 11:38-44 (NIV): Jesus Raises Lazarus From the Dead

Jesus, once more deeply moved, came to the tomb. It was a cave with a stone laid across the entrance. “Take away the stone,” he said.

“But, Lord,” said Martha, the sister of the dead man, “by this time there is a bad odor, for he has been there four days.”

Then Jesus said, “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?”

So they took away the stone. Then Jesus looked up and said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me. I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me” (emphasis added).

When he had said this, Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!” The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face.

Jesus said to them, “Take off the grave clothes and let him go.”

I mentioned that the above scriptures which speak of His glory really excite me, so please go back and read those that are italicized once again.

I love the very words of Jesus in verse 40 when He tells Martha that if she would only believe, she would see the glory of God!  My friends, that is a promise that I want to stand on!  He is not saying those words for Martha’s sake only.  He is saying those words for you and I  to hear! Are you listening?  Are you believing?  Jesus continues on with this by speaking to His Father (our Father)  by telling Him that He (Jesus) was mentioning these words to Him (Father) for OUR BENEFIT! Are you following me here?  This is huge stuff!  If we look back and read over what we have previously learned from John Chapter 11, we realize that throughout these scriptures, Jesus is telling the people to believe.  He told the disciples in verse 14 that the situation occurred the way that it did so they would believe.

Did the Lord have the power to heal Lazarus the moment His friends asked Him to?  Yes.  Was he capable of  answering  their heart cries the exact minute they approached Him?  Yes.  Did Jesus choose to wait?  Yes!  It was in waiting that His glory was revealed.  It was in their trusting that His glory was revealed.  It was in bringing them to the point where they had to believe, that His glory was revealed.

Jesus heard their heart cries.  The word tells us in verse 35 that even Jesus wept.  He knew and felt their pain.  He allowed the events to occur in the order they did so that His glory would be revealed.  Jesus ended this story with amazing glory!  He raised Lazarus from the dead!  Although there were tears, although it was tough, His friends had to believe.  In believing, the Lord revealed His all powerful glory and I can only imagine the disciples, Martha, Mary and the other Jews who chose to put their faith in Jesus at that moment, were in awe of the glory of the Lord.

What are you believing Him for?  He can do great things.  Believe Him! Trust Him! Pray and seek His face over the matters of your heart.  Allow His glory to be revealed through your believing in Him to do great and mighty things in and through your life.

Matthew 17:20 (NIV): “I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

Will you believe Him?  The end result of your believing reveals His glory!  I am praying that you will let His glory shine through in your life as you believe Him to do great things.

Leave a Reply

