just a minute

This post is written with mom’s of younger children in mind.

Just a Minute!

 How many times a day do you hear a statement from your child prefaced with the infamous words “Mommy, will you please…” or what about “Mommy could you just…” I know you can all too well identify and have more than likely already filled in the blanks multiple times.  This leads me to the next question. How many times a day is your reply prefaced with “just a minute?”  Just a minute, let me finish loading the dishes in the dishwasher. Just a minute, let me finish this phone call. Just a minute, just a minute, just a minute.

All our children really need is just minute of our time.  How hard is it to put down what you are doing every once in a while and give your child your undivided attention.  Personal attention is so necessary for the well being and developmental growth of a child, regardless the age.

Here are a few easy suggestions to help you put down what you are busy with and make time for your children:

  • Give each child 30 minutes of each day set aside just for them.
  • Ask your children on dates. (My husband and I have 3 children and we like to have one on one dates with each child from time to time. Sometimes this date just consists of going to Target and getting popcorn and a slushy after I pick up necessary items and other times something more fun like a trip to the movies)
  • If the age is appropriate, engage your children in your daily chores so that not only are you getting your tasks completed, they are working alongside of you allowing time to be spent together.
  • Together as a family or even one on one with each child work together on a community project.

The next time your child calls out to you for your time, what will be your reply? I must confess, even as I am typing this post, my little one is sitting beside me asking if she can type her name on my computer.  Have you guessed my reply? Just a minute! The moment the words fell from my tongue, I was quickly reminded to put down the computer, and give her the cherished time that she so very well deserved.

Mark 10:13-16 (NIV): People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them.  When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.  Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”  And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.

I love how Christ himself showed the importance of making time for the younger persuasion in the above verses.  The appointed twelve disciples thought Jesus was wasting His time on the children, but Christ rebuked them and spent valuable time with the young.  Jesus knew what was important and what a treasure His time was with the small children.  May you be encouraged today to share the love of Christ with your children and make time for them on a daily basis.

One thought on “just a minute

Leave a Reply

