wonderfully made!

My sweet Jacob will turn 5 this Saturday. I thought I would use this week to make special posts about his precious life.

Psalm 139:14 (NIV): I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made!

If you know me at all or have ever had me send you happy birthday wishes, then you know that my heart is very fond of the above scripture.  I have always enjoyed Psalm 139 but it wasn’t until I was pregnant with my second child (Jacob) that the scripture came to life for me.

I was born with clubbed feet and hands.  I was in braces or casts for the first several years of my life.  I had 2 surgeries on my foot which has corrected my deformity and has allowed me to live a very active and normal life.  For 5 generations or more, on my dad’s side of the family, the second and third child has had something wrong with his/her hands or feet.  I was the third child born of my father and as previously mentioned, was born with clubbed hands and feet.

As I became pregnant with my second child, fear took over my entire being, as I worried about the possible deformities for my child.  I still to this day remember rocking my first born one night and just crying out to the Lord over the fear of the child in my womb possibly having a deformity.  Like any mother, I desired for him to have perfect hands and feet despite the fact that for the past several generations, every second and third child had a deformity of some sort.  The Lord was so loving and brought Psalm 139:14 to my mind.  Through that scripture, I had complete assurance that my child would have a perfect make up as the Lord knit him together in my womb.  The Lord reassured me that my little Jacob would be made fearfully and wonderfully! I claimed that scripture over his time in my womb and believed in the Lord for a miracle.

I even recall telling a family member about the verse and how I was believing the Lord to heal the hands and feet of my precious baby.  She was not as convinced as I was and told me that it was fine for me to pray that but not to get my hopes up because every second and third child would have something wrong with them.  I did not allow her comment to get to me and continued to pray and believe.

On November 19, 2006, my precious Jacob Avery was born fearfully and wonderfully made!  His hands and feet were just fine! Glory to God in the highest for His favor upon my child.

I still hear that scripture as if I am hearing it for the very first time. It is absolute truth for me.  I love that I was able to claim it over my child and to this day call it Jacob’s scripture.  Last month in church and preschool, it was my children’s memory verse.  I loved having my youngest 2 memorize and quote it to me.

Praise God that our children are fearfully and wonderfully made!

2 thoughts on “wonderfully made!

  1. Kelli

    I love this verse, I think of it almost every time I see my Emily. Though she did end up not being born exactly the way I expected, God is showing me that even still she was “fearfully and wonderfully made”. I have her picture in a frame that says the verse and everytime I get overwhelmed with the delays or any of the other inconveniences the Down Syndrome causes, all I have to do is look at her sweet face in that frame and know that God knew exactly what he was doing when he made her the way that she is 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

