sunflowers

Last month my youngest two children were playing outside and riding their power wheeled jeep in our cul de sac.  During their drive they decided to pull over and pick me a few “flowers.”  Jacob and Emma Rose were beyond ecstatic when they delivered my flowers to me.  They were jumping up and down and had the biggest smiles on their faces.  With great excitement, Jacob asked “don’t you just love your beautiful flowers mommy?  They are sunflowers!”  Both of my children were so proud of the new flowers they picked just for me.  They could not wait for me to come inside and put them in a vase.

If you are picturing bright, beautiful, yellow sunflowers right now, I do not mean to burst your imagination bubble.  These beautiful, yellow flowers were in reality tiny yellow weeds.  I knew the truth of the matter, although my children thought so, these were not sunflowers.  However, because of the joy of my children and the sweetness in their little spirits as they lovingly brought them to me, I received the flowers as if they were the prettiest “sunflowers” I had ever seen.

As I brought them into the house and got down a special vase just for these flowers, I raved at how beautiful they were and how thankful I was for them to my precious children.  I knew they were just weeds but to Jacob and Emma Rose, they were beautiful, yellow sunflowers.

The Lord used these flowers to reveal a few truths to me.

1. Do I see things/events/circumstances as mere “weeds” but if I we were to look at them through the eyes of Christ, would these things/events/circumstances become beautiful sunflowers? Isaiah 61:3(NLT): …he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks that the LORD has planted for his own glory.

2. I was encouraged to look at every situation in life as a beautiful sunflower even when it feels more like a weed. Jeremiah 29:11(NIV): For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

3. The innocence of a child always humbles me.  If only I could see the beauty in life like they do. If only I could remember to get excited about the “little” things in life like they do.  Matthew 18:4 (NIV): Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

May this post encourage you the next time you see a tiny yellow weed to thank the Lord for His perfect plan over your life and the beauty in every circumstance.  For He can truly take “beauty from ashes” (Isaiah 61:3).

Isaiah 40:8(NIV): The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God stands forever.”

One thought on “sunflowers

Leave a Reply

