kitty cat

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV): Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

The following is a fun little story that I wrote about my 3 kiddos a few years ago.  I love that it has the same verse that I shared with you yesterday so I wanted to share this story with you as well.

I find great joy in watching my three little children play together. Their current ages are so much fun (4, 3,and 17 months). They are the best of buddies.  A few days ago they were playing a very creative game. The 2 boys were pretending to be puppy dogs and Emma Rose, my baby, was the kitty cat.  The puppy dogs were “pretending” to eat the kitty cat. The boys chased Emma Rose all over the kitchen trying to pretend eat her. She was enjoying the game so much, I assume because she had no idea that they were pretending to eat her up.  I heard her sweet giggle all over the kitchen.  The boys were saying “We’re gonna eat that kitty cat, yum, yum, yum”… over and over again.  Up until the point I heard Emma Rose’s pitiful cry, they were having a blast.  I walked over to see why she was crying. I asked Jonah, my oldest, what was wrong with her. He replied “she is crying because Jacob bit her.”  “Jacob!” I exclaimed. “Why in the world did you bite your sister?” Well, “Jonah said we were puppy dogs and we were eating that kitty cat.” I had to scold him slightly beneath my laughter. I told him that Jonah wasn’t really eating her, he was only pretending.  To this day, I can hear his sweet, innocent voice tell me that he was eating her because Jonah told him they were eating up that kitty cat.

In the world of make believe, all things are fun and full of laughter. It is fun to pretend, isn’t it?  I love to pretend in my mind that we live in a perfect world. That I really am a princess, that I have a perfect prince charming and three perfect children. In reality though, I do have a wonderful family, but we are far from perfect.  Life is real, and every day is not full of laughter. Some days are sad, lonely, and every now and again, anger likes to creep its way in. There is always a pile of laundry to wash, dishes to clean, and with three boys in my house, toilets to constantly scrub.  Life is not always as perfect as I like to make it up to be in my pretend world. Non the less, it is a great life!  It is so refreshing to know that I don’t have to “pretend” to be perfect or have it all together.  I mess up, my house gets a little dusty from time to time, and every now and again, I slip up and  just bite that kitty cat! (Not my Emma Rose).

There is a fine line between pretending and reality. We can’t spend all of our time, efforts and energy creating this perfect world for ourselves because in reality, there is no perfect world or situation.  It is nice to know that in Christ, we are “new creations” and we no longer have to pretend to be perfect because in Christ we were created just as He wanted us to be. Our imperfections allow us to reveal His perfections.  We are imperfect people striving to perfect the creation of Christ.

Stop trying to be perfect or comparing your life to the life of your neighbors who also “pretends” to have it all together. Let me let you in on a little secret, Come closer, because I am going to whisper it……. THEY ARE NOT PERFECT EITHER.  THEY ARE ONLY PRETENDING TO BE.

Let’s read that all so encouraging scripture one more time.  2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV): Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

What we are IS what HE wants us to be.

We don’t have to pretend.

How often do we wish, hope, pray that we looked like her, had her bank account, didn’t have the family life we have, was skinnier, had a different hair color……..

Has there ever been a time in your life when you accepted the truth that He died on a cross and rose again all for your sins?  I pray there has been, and at that moment you became a new creation and you no longer have to pretend to be something that you are not because in HIM, you just ARE.

You are an amazing woman of God created for His glory!

2 thoughts on “kitty cat

  1. Eric Cain

    First, I’m not a girl, but a friend of mine, I mean ours, sent me the website and I really enjoy it. God bless.
    Mr. Eric

    Reply

Leave a Reply

