sufficient grace

I hope you all had a peaceful Christmas and are looking towards 2012 with a heart of joy.  The week between Christmas and New Year’s Day feels like so much of an “in between” time.  You may have remnants of Christmas decor up, gifts still under the tree that have yet to be delivered, kids still out of school and sweets lingering from Christmas Day.  You probably have yet to feel motivated enough to start all of the new year goals of healthy lifestyles, new organization tactics and all of those other standards you set for yourself in a new year.  For me, this week always seems to be one to hold on to or let go of the old, prepare for the future and get ready to allow the Lord to change all that He desires in my life in the new year that is right around the corner.

There is so much to learn from God’s word in 2 Corinthians 12:9 regarding trusting God with the past and allow Him to transform your mind towards a new, fresh start and future. 

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV):  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

The Message words it this way “and then he told me, My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness. Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness.”

As you go “out with the old” and “in the new,” may you rest in God’s truth.  There are no goals that can’t be accomplished, past hurts that can’t be removed or a future that couldn’t be any brighter when we rest in His grace alone. I am so thankful that His grace is enough for me! Is it enough for you?

One thought on “sufficient grace

Leave a Reply

