peace out!

I studied the fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23) with my children over the summer.  It was a great lesson for us to learn together.  I taught the virtues as a means of discipline for the children and to teach them how to have their hearts directed towards Christ as they interact with others.  Not only did I pray these virtues over my children, but over my own life as I desired to possess the same virtues when I am disciplining and raising my children.  I also desire to have the fruit penetrate my heart as I walk through life. My last 2 posts were about the fruit love and joy.  Today I would love to introduce the third fruit to you.

I love hearing my children quote the fruits back to me.  I am always tickled to pieces when Emma Rose (my 3 year old) cites the virtues and always says love, joy, “peace out” … when she gets to the fruit that we will be looking at today.  I thought there would be no better introduction to this post than to pray that you all will go forth in peace as you allow the Holy Spirit teach you through His truths over this virtue.  So, PEACE OUT!

Have you had hectic weeks lately?  Do you just feel that life is spinning faster and faster as each day approaches?  We live in a fast paced world.  At times, it is nice to take a retreat, a break from the mundane and take your mind off of the reality of an everyday busy life.

Although I can’t physically take you to a retreat spot right now, I would love to take you there in your mind. After reading these next few sentences, I want you to close your eyes. Be still (Psalm 46:10) and enjoy the silence if it is for just a moment.  I want you to picture yourself in the middle of the woods sitting by a stream of softly flowing water.  There is a gentle breeze and no other sound but the water hitting the pebbles.  Nice and serene, isn’t it? If that is not your “cup of tea” then picture yourself at the beach or on top of a mountain.  You get the point, close your eyes and picture that scene of peace in your mind.

Where did your mind take you?  How did you feel in that peaceful moment? How long were you able to sit in silence before having a distracting thought?

As a mother of young children, at times, the only time I am able to have a “peaceful” moment is when I lock myself in my closet or bathroom. You are laughing because you so get that, don’t you?  Do you realize that the peace you felt in that moment is the exact same peace that the Lord intends for you to feel in any and every circumstance?  He is a God of peace!

Life may be busy… but He is peace.  Life may be confusing… but He is peace. Life may be loud… but He is peace.  Life may be………. But He is peace.

Read over Philippians 4:1-9:Therefore, my brothers, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, that is how you should stand firm in the Lord, dear friends! I plead with Euodia and I plead with Syntyche to agree with each other in the Lord. Yes, and I ask you, loyal yokefellow help these women who have contended at my side in the cause of the gospel, along with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life. Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

As you read about the virtue of peace, please be in tune to the Holy Spirit’s prompting to show you the specific areas in your life that can be filled with peace.  Are you filled with anxiety or are you calm?  Do you show peace in your relationships (your spouse, children, family members, friends etc)? Do you rest at night knowing that the Lord is in charge and you are able to sleep peacefully or do you lie awake in doubt and worry?  Trust the Lord and rest assured that He desires to fill your life with peace.

I would love to pray over you (put your name in the blanks)

Lord of Peace,

I come before you praying over my precious sister/brother ___________________. Please fill his/her mind, actions and attitude with peace.  Thank you that with you all things are possible and that your peace transcends all understanding.  May ___________live a life of peace and not disorder.  Guide _____________ to bathe in the virtue of peace every day as he/she trusts your word and your love towards him/her.  You are an amazing God and I pray that ____________ will  bask in the peace that you offer, for he/she is your child.

In Jesus name, Amen.

James 3:17 (ESV) tells us that the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.

2 thoughts on “peace out!

  1. Gigi Dart

    Do u still meet at AFBC church for bible study? What day and time do u meet. I would like to come. Thanks. Gigi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

