Y-E-S to VBS!

Don’t you just love Vacation Bible School?  I know my kids are thoroughly enjoying it this summer.  All three attended the one at our preschool’s church last week and the boys wanted to attend another one this week at their friend’s church.  It is so amazing to see my little one’s get so excited about learning more about the Lord and their love for Him. These days, you can bank on hearing the words to the song “Yes to VBS” blaring from the CD player or our little ones lips.

One of my favorite things that happened the past two “VBS” weeks was hearing my boys memorize scripture.  My 5-year-old came home each afternoon wanting to tell me his scripture and how he got a piece of candy for saying his verse to the VBS teacher.  My oldest son, Jonah, loves to quote his favorite verse, John 3:16.  He was so excited this week when that was one of his memory verses.  He is my more reserved, shy personality kid so I was beyond joyful when he told me he stood up and was the first kid to say the verse and did so in front of his entire VBS group.  Hearing my kids learn and proclaim the very words of our Savior gets this mama singing “Yes to VBS” as well!

Scripture memorization is so necessary for the life of a believer.  Not only does it allow us to fill our minds with the word of God but it makes it easier for us to use God’s word when we pray.  I still remember the very first scripture that I ever memorized (John 10:10).  I am thankful that my kids are much younger while they are learning God’s word, for I was in 10th grade when I put my very first scripture to memory.  My friend (Melissa Baker) 🙂 invited me to her church’s youth group.  I loved it! Realizing that I had a good time, she invited me to come with her to Sunday school.  (I know some of you will have to go back in your mind to remember Sunday School… because it is sadly enough becoming a thing of the church past)… but I loved Sunday school!  During my first time to experience Sunday School, the teacher asked you to tell him the memory verse that they were working on as you walked in the door.  My heart began to pound because I had never memorized a single scripture before.  To be honest with you, I am not sure that I had even heard of the words scripture memorization. He could tell the anxiety building up within me, so he told me to just tell him John 3:16… again, I had NEVER memorized scripture before.. not John 3:16 nor the verse that says “Jesus wept.”  Thankfully, he was a kind man because he let me slip in without telling him a single verse.  Needless to say, I went home that afternoon, looked up John 10:10 and have never forgotten that it says “the thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

Putting John 10:10 to memory gave me a life long love for knowing God’s word.  I love that my children now have a love for His word too. I pray that this post encourages you to dig into His word, His love letters and allow them to penetrate your heart and mind in such a way that they are life changing.  I challenge you to pick a verse this week and put it to memory.  In closing, will join me in saying a big, loud “YES TO VBS!!!”

John 3:16:For God so lovedthe world that he gavehis one and only Son,that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

John 10:10: The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life,and have it to the full.

Leave a Reply

