God winks!

If you read my blog post from yesterday, you learned how Jesus supplied even more fish than the fishermen needed simply because they looked up, heard His voice (although they didn’t even know it was the voice of Jesus at the time) and obeyed.  They followed His instruction and was given more fish than they could imagine catching after a long night of catching absolutely nothing.

Today we will continue along with the same story from John 21 and learn a second truth.  I have the text here for you if you would like to read verses 1-14 in it’s entirety:

John 21:1-14: Afterward Jesus appeared again to his disciples, by the Sea of Galilee.  It happened this way: Simon Peter, Thomas (also known as Didymus), Nathanael from Cana in Galilee, the sons of Zebedee, and two other disciples were together. “I’m going out to fish,” Simon Peter told them, and they said, “We’ll go with you.” So they went out and got into the boat, but that night they caught nothing.Early in the morning, Jesus stood on the shore, but the disciples did not realize that it was Jesus.He called out to them, “Friends, haven’t you any fish?” “No,” they answered.  6 He said, “Throw your net on the right side of the boat and you will find some.” When they did, they were unable to haul the net in because of the large number of fish.  7 Then the disciple whom Jesus loved said to Peter, “It is the Lord!” As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, “It is the Lord,” he wrapped his outer garment around him (for he had taken it off) and jumped into the water. The other disciples followed in the boat, towing the net full of fish, for they were not far from shore, about a hundred yards. When they landed, they saw a fire of burning coals there with fish on it, and some bread. 10 Jesus said to them, “Bring some of the fish you have just caught.” 11 So Simon Peter climbed back into the boat and dragged the net ashore. It was full of large fish, 153, but even with so many the net was not torn. 12 Jesus said to them, “Come and have breakfast.” None of the disciples dared ask him, “Who are you?” They knew it was the Lord. 13 Jesus came, took the bread and gave it to them, and did the same with the fish. 14 This was now the third time Jesus appeared to his disciples after he was raised from the dead.

I love that when the disciples made it to the beach, Jesus was already on the scene and everything was ready and prepared for them.  Scripture tells us that He had built a fire.  He had fish and bread ready for His beloved friends that I am sure He assumed were starving because they had been out fishing all night long.  In studying these verses I was automatically reminded of how the Lord loves to “woo” us.  He is the true servant.  Not only did He allow them to catch a net full of fish but He went ahead of them and prepared a meal.  He knew exactly what they needed at the right time they would need it.  He simply adores us so much that He knows how to give us our hearts desires (Psalm 37:4).  He does this in such an amazing way that He often “woos” us with something as simple as breakfast.  I like to call these moments “God winks.”  It is kind of like He is whispering sweet love words into our ears and making sure we know just how much He loves and cares for our ever single need.

I think fondly of my very first date with my husband, Jeff.  We didn’t go on our first date until a few weeks after actually meeting.  I assume sometime during these few weeks I mentioned to Him that my favorite color was purple and that I loved flowers and chocolate.  Flowers, chocolate and Jesus go hand in hand, right?  When he picked me up for our first date, he opened the door to his truck and you would not believe what was sitting in the front seat… if you guessed purple flowers you are correct.  If you guessed a basket full of purple flowers and cute little bags filled with chocolates that he so adorably crafted together so nicely, then you get extra credit points! What was this man doing? He was “wooing” me.  He knew what I liked, took the time to prepare it for me and had everything ready just for me not only to make sure that I would want a second date but to make sure I knew he cared. Dating or courtship is filled with “wooing” and “winks” simply because you are on cloud nine and want to make the best impression on the other person.  My heart still skips a beat when I think back of my days of dating Jeff.  Those times were (and still are) amazing… but even greater than Jeff’s love for me and mine for him is the love of an amazing Savior who daily desires to “woo” me.

Wooing was exactly what He was doing when He went ahead of the disciples, had the fire going and made breakfast for some hungry men.  Can you even imagine the humility in that?  Remember,  just a few weeks before this scene, He died on the cross and rose from the dead!!!  If He had the power to do that, why in the world would He desire to humble Himself once again to serve his friends.  His love amazes me.  He is the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords, and He serves me and you.  What love! What “wooing!”  I pray that you are in tune to Him today in such a way that you are aware of those God winks.  Are you ready to sit down and have breakfast with the one who loves you so much that He prepared a fire on the beach just for you?

Leave a Reply

