virtuous character

Proverbs 31:30 (NIV): Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. 

If you were to review all of Proverbs 31:10-31 you would be able to identify many characteristics this virtuous woman possessed.  You may be able to relate with some and there are probably others that are a work in progress in your life. When I think of the word character, my mind can’t help but take me to thoughts of “is my character the same on the outside as it is on the inside” and “what character traits do others see in me”?

There is one day in particular that comes to mind, that I must confess if the “woman of noble character” squad had knocked on my door, they might have convicted me of a crime rather than given me a jewel for my crown.  On this day, my character just downright stunk.  I will not keep your wondering minds in suspense any longer, yes, I will share with you what character oops I  committed on that day.

My oldest, Jonah was a kindergartener at the time.  His school was having their annual fall festival that coming Saturday.  I was a room mom for his class and volunteered to make a cake for the festival’s cake walk. With eager intentions, I set out to make the most adorable pumpkin orange cake layered with pumpkin shaped sugar cookies.  I was going for the “wow” factor instead of making my very yummy home made chocolate chip cake that is to die for to the taste buds but not so much to the eyes.  Deciding to make the pumpkin cake was all about the looks; while the chocolate chip cake had the tastiest inner beauty.  I baked all morning long and my kitchen showed for it.  I am not sure who was covered more in flour, myself or the counter tops. The aroma of the kitchen was inviting.  I was just about to pat myself on the back for the “Proverbs 31 mom of the cake walk” award when the oven timer went off letting me know that the cake was ready.  Yummy! It looked delicious and I couldn’t wait to put all of the “wow factor” touches to it.  Well much to my dismay, the cake split right down the center and fell apart as if it were an earthquake splitting the ground apart.  What in the world was I to do?  I did not have time to make another cake because this cake was supposed to be turned in when I picked up my son the following hour.  I really didn’t know if I should laugh or cry. Instead, I did the next best thing, phoned a friend! My sweet friend, Courtney came to the rescue.  She offered to go buy me a cake at Publix and turn it in for me.  As hard as it was for me to allow her to do that, I did.  I was in complete disarray that I was about to have a store-bought cake turned in for my son’s very first fall festival. What happened to my day? Where did I go wrong? The Proverbs 31 woman would have never turned in a store-bought cake. Needless to say, I finished the rest of the not so “wow factor” cake and shared it with my family and Courtney’s, although they would practically have to eat it with a spoon instead of a fork.

Was the Lord trying to teach me a lesson from this cake catastrophe day?  It wasn’t until my son said his bedtime prayers that I really obtained meaning from all that occurred.  During his prayer, Jonah thanked God for my cake, stating that it was “so delicious to his tummy” and that he was so happy that I made one for his school and one for him to eat because he loved it so much, ending with “I especially liked the inside of it.” Are you following me here? Jonah ended his prayer with a common theme for this blog post.  That day, my character allowed me to run away with the exterior presentation for the cake when all along it was the inside that was the best.  Pride or not, I would not have turned in that ugly cake in a million years.  However, I wonder how my day could have been much easier and less stressful had I just made the old faithful chocolate chip cake that may not have been so “charming” to the eyes.  It is true, charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting. Besides, Jonah liked the inside the best of my charming cake after all. “A woman who fears the Lord” really is one to be praised.  (Proverbs 31:30)

 

Below are a few questions for any of you who would like to dig deeper into this virtuous character.

Explain a time in your life when the Proverbs 31 squad might have convicted you of a crime instead of giving you a jewel for your crown. (i.e.: a situation with your husband, children, friend, complete stranger…)

What about those jewels?  Have you ever just felt really good about possessing that certain Prov. 31 characteristic?  Now is the time to brag on you.  If you are like me, this is a very hard thing to do… but go ahead. I know there are many examples you could come up with. You deserve a moment to shine. Please share…..

Name a woman or two who comes to your mind when you think of the good qualities of the Proverbs 31 woman?

Why is this “woman who fears the Lord” such an example to you?

If you cannot name a woman, ask the Lord to place someone in your life that you could use as a mentor and glean from her Godly example.

Please read and write it down if possible Hebrews 10:24.

If there is such a woman in your life, why not send her a note via snail mail or email and let her know what a jewel she is to your life. She deserves to be “spurred on”    .

Stay tuned for the next blog post will be all about being a noble wife.

 

One thought on “virtuous character

  1. Charlotte Travis

    Precious! You know, with your comment about servants making this more of a reality, and there’s a reason this is in the Bible, I am inspired to study the Proverbs 31 woman as the ultimate bride of Christ! With all of us doing our part, these things would be possible for the family of God. Thanks Heather!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

