A wife of noble character

Proverbs 31:10 (NIV): A wife of noble character who can find?  She is worth far more than rubies. 

Do you desire to be a wife of noble character? I am sure you are already well on your way to obtaining that title without even realizing it.  I am eager for the Lord to teach us more on the topic in this blog post.

The adjective of the word noble means to possess high ideals or excellent moral character.  Looking at the word as a noun, we learn that it is a gold coin that was formerly used in England and worth half a mark.  In reference to being a wife of noble character, I can’t help but question if I am more like the adjective or the noun.  Where do you fall in the line- up?  I am far from possessing excellent moral character, and I must confess that at times, I am more like the gold coin. When it comes to being a noble wife, I often sell myself short and only feel that I am worth half a mark.  It seems that once a month all that I have gained in obtaining that moral excellence goes by the wayside.  Do you follow me when I say “once a month”?  Just when I think I am that wife, my monthly visitor comes right along and crashes my excellence straight to the ground.

It is hard work to be a wife period, not to mention a noble one.  However, we need not sell ourselves short, it is hard work, and I assure you that all you put into it is worth far more than rubies. How many dinners have you cooked? What about clothes that have been washed and folded, errands ran and the list goes on and on. Are you the one who keeps the entire house in line?  My husband often says that I am the glue that holds our family together.  I have the schedule figured out, make sure everyone is always in their place and know exactly where everything is in the entire home at all times.

In many ways, we may not always feel like we are a wives of noble character, but if our men were asked that question about us, I assure you they would esteem our worth to be far greater than rubies.  Join me this week to make our husbands our number one focus.

  • What can you do this week to set aside time just for him in order to make him feel extra special and loved?
  • Spend some time this week doing exactly those things that came to mind.
  • Are there any areas of being that wife of excellence that you could work on?
  • How often do you have quality prayer time for your spouse?
  • Why not make time this week to approach the throne of grace on your knees on behalf of your man. He is worth our “knee” time. Maybe even ask him for some specific things that you can pray for him about.

I am curious to see the wonderful changes that will be made in our marriages this week when we put our men on the top of our list.

Other verses that may encourage you on this topic could include: Proverbs 31:11-12; 1 Peter 4:8; Proverbs 18:22; 1 Corinthians 13:13; Hebrews 4:16

I would love for you to comment later on in the week and let us know what you did for your man and how you were able to encourage him this week!

One thought on “A wife of noble character

Leave a Reply

