“oh to be a noble mom”

Proverbs 31:28: Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.

My boys are completely infatuated these days with super heroes.  Jonah loves Superman and Spider man and my Jacob loves, and actually thinks he is, Batman. Do you ever wish you were Super Woman or Wonder Girl? Oh to have those special powers as a wife and mother would be wonderful.  Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to have super speedy power that you could fly through your house and have it cleaned entirely in two seconds flat? What about having the power to get the chicken out of the fridge and pasta out of the pantry and BAM, it is already a well prepared, cooked and healthy meal without you having to even turn on the oven.  If only we were able to complete all of the tasks that need to be finished in one day and still have time to play with your children every time they ask us to. Oh wouldn’t that be nice?

Guess what?  The moment we accepted Christ as our Savior, a different type of “special powers” became ours in an instant.  2 Corinthians 1:21-22 (NIV) states that God “anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come”.  We can claim the power of the Holy Spirit to allow us to accomplish any task that is set before us.  We have the power to love our kids with the same passion and love that Christ loves us, the power to teach them about the love of God and to daily be an example to them.

Don’t you just love your children?  I am often caught saying that because of them “my cup runneth over” (Psalm 23:5; KJV).  The moment the Lord began knitting them together in our womb (Psalm 139:13b), we were able to have a small glimpse of the love Christ has towards us. Besides our spouses, who else would we give up our lives for?  We possess a love like no other when it comes to loving our children.

When I think about the love I have towards my kids, I am reminded of our last Disney trip (and unfortunately it was a few years ago… I think it’s time for another trip).  We were only at Magic Kingdom for one day so we had a lot to do to cross everything off of our list. Along with ride all of the favorite rides; we had to meet Mickey, the Princesses, and the Toy Story characters. Those were the top of our character list.  It was already mid day before we realized it. Buzz Light Year was the first to be crossed off our list and then we headed to Toon Town to meet Mr. Mickey and those beautiful Princesses. The lines were long and it took a while to get our pics and autographs. Before I even realized it, it was already 5pm and we hadn’t met any of my middle son, Jacob’s characters.  I am very anti “middle child” syndrome so I was determined to make it to the other end of the park toting three kids by 5:30 (the time the autographs closed) to make it to Woody from Toy Story for my Jacob. I ran as fast as I could to only find the line stopped a few minutes early. I begged and pleaded with the Disney staff to let us remain in line. Regardless of my plea, the answer was no. What was this mama to do? Jonah (my oldest) and Emma Rose (our baby girl) met their characters but Jacob didn’t get to meet his favorite character and we were only at Disney for one day.  We decided to just walk up and watch Woody and get a few pics from a distance. My heart was crushed that Jacob, my middle child, would not meet his character and get an autograph.  Only the eyes of a mama would realize that she hadn’t tried her “plea for mercy” with the other two workers who were working directly with Woody. I kindly and with a little southern charm, asked if they wouldn’t mind just getting an autograph for us when Woody was finished signing autographs.  During my plea, just as I was mentioning that I was about to cry, tears started flowing from this mama’s face. Why? Because I love my son so much that my heart was just crushed for him.  The workers told me not to cry and that they wanted us to step aside and wait. When Woody finished signing autographs for his fans, they asked us to walk with Woody behind the scenes, and allowed us one on one time with Woody for pictures and autographs!  Talk about one happy mama! I think I was more excited than the kids. God’s love shone down upon my family that moment as my love for my son was shown through the tears that I cried on his behalf.  God is so good, isn’t He? And so is a mama’s love!

Proverbs 31 has a lot to say about being a noble mother.  As you study what God’s word has to tell us about such a task through Proverbs 31, do not get discouraged. Remember that not only did this woman have servants; she also obtained these qualities throughout her lifetime, not over night.

 

I leave you with two encouragements and a prayer:

I encourage you to try your best to be in God’s word and prayer daily.  It is very important that we have personal time set aside to be alone with the Lord, but at times, our time in the word and prayer might be shared with our children.  I truly believe that when we are “full in the Lord”, we can give our children and spouses our best.  Allow Christ’s love towards us to shine through in your relationships with your husband and children this week.

Spend some time in prayer for each of your children this week (I hope you are already doing so on a daily basis, but let this time be a longer, more focus on each individual child, kind of prayer time).  I encourage you to take the time to write out what you love about your children.  What are their strengths and weaknesses? How do they show love and how do they receive love? For example, my oldest son, Jonah really needs quality time in order to feel my love towards him.  Work on loving them in such a way that the Lord designed them to be loved.

Heavenly Father,

Thank you for your love towards us.  For it is by your example of love, that we are able to love our spouses and children.  Please protect our time in your word this week so that we can grow to be more and more like a woman of noble character.  May our children and husbands be able to arise and call us blessed?  Please help us to glorify you in all that we do.  Thank you for the seal of the Holy Spirit to give us the power to conquer anything that you set before us. Thank you for your love, In Jesus name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

