mirror mirror on the wall…

There is a ginormous sliding glass door in our hotel room. It is a mirror in its entirety. My little girl is in love with it. Well… I am not sure if she is in love with the mirror or the adorable diva that looks back at her when she looks in it. She has entertained herself in front of it for hours. She has made faces, winked at herself, sung songs and recited scenes from her favorite princess movies all the while looking into this huge mirror. She giggles and laughs at herself and has kept my husband and I in stiches all afternoon.

Watching her in awe, I began to think about the sweetness and innocence of a little girl. What saddens my heart is that most little girls will mature into teenagers and their ability to laugh and giggle while gazing into a mirror will change drastically. Many teenage girls have poor self images and rarely like what they see when they look in the mirror. Most compare themselves to others. They spend most of their “mirror time” dreaming of being taller or shorter, skinnier, having straight hair if their hair is curly and curly hair if it is straight. They want less zits or freckles. Red hair if they are brunettes and desire to be blonde if they have auburn hair. The explanations could go on and on. Something happens when little girls mature into teenagers…. the “look at me and my silly face” begins to desire to be something drastically different from the way God created them to be.

For many… this doesn’t end when a teenager reaches womanhood. The freckles, zits and hair color changes to desires of wanting that house instead of this one, that bank account instead of the one they have, children who behaves like her children and a man who treats her like so and so’s husband does instead of the children and husband the Lord has blessed them with.

It all boils down to security, contentment and satisfaction. I might not be able to do a lot with the generation I currently compare myself to… but my hope and desire is to change the one to come. The generation that my little girl will grow up with and the generation following hers. I desire for my little one to see her self-worth as it compares to the image of Christ. I want her to grow up being content with who she is, what she has and exactly with the way the Lord has made her. I don’t meant that I want to do this in such a way that she grows up prideful, arrogant or conceited. I want to instill the love of Christ in her and give her words from God’s truth (the bible) so she can base her life on what is real and true instead of a lie that the world will feed her. I want her to be and feel loved no matter what. I want her to know she is cared about regardless. I want her to be different from the generations before hers.

Jesus, help me to make a difference in the life of my little diva so that she can impact all the other little diva’s around. May this all be done for your glory, for your name and your renown.

1 Timothy 6:6 (NAS): But godliness actually is a means of great gain when accompanied by contentment.

Psalm 45:11 (NIV): The king is enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord.

Colossians 2:2 (NAS): that their hearts may be encouraged, having been knit together in love, and attaining to all the wealth that comes from the full assurance of understanding, resulting in a true knowledge of God’s mystery, that is, Christ Himself…

Leave a Reply

