when darkness surounds… His LIGHT prevails

Such darkness surrounds me. What a sad few weeks. My heart just aches. News after news that is just bad. The elementary school shooting last week in CT. A young police officer shot and killed in the line of duty in the town I grew up in will be buried tomorrow. My cousin is fighting cancer for the second time. The death of one of the most amazing little cancer patients that I ever cared for this past week. News that a close family member gave birth, prematurely to a little 3lb baby boy who is fighting for his life on the ventilator.
It is only 4 days away from the best day of the year. In just four short days, we celebrate the birth of our Savior. The joy in His birth. The hope that His birth brings to this world is what I must cling to. A miraculous birth. Heaven came to earth so that we could one day live a victorious life… that is what I must cling to when my heart aches for these families. I hurt. My heart is heavy and saddened from all of this news… so I can only fathom how the immediate loves involved with these distinct situations must feel.
JESUS is the LIGHT of the WORLD
He spoke light into darkness…
Jesus shine ever so bright this Christmas on what appears to be a dark world…

Jesus,
Thank you that your light never dims. Thank you that one day every tear will be dried, every disease healed, every heart ache mended and every believer united and resting peacefully in the arms of the giver of life…
You are the LIGHT of the WORLD.

They went on their way, and the star they had seen in the east went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. When they saw the star, they were overjoyed. – Matthew 2:9-10

Leave a Reply

