New Mercies

Lamentations 3:22-26
Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”
The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;
it is good to wait quietly
for the salvation of the Lord.

Ever had one of  “those” days?  You know the kind I am talking about. Those days…. The day that you just want to end before it is even half way over.  The day that you desire to get back in bed, pull the covers over your head and pretend the day has yet to start.  The day when you think you need to send yourself to “time out” instead of your children.  Are you following me?  Do you have a nice scenario of your own version of “that day” in your head now?  Are you cursing me for reminding you of that day that you have tried to erase from your mind?  We have all had them… may be having it today and will continue to have them in the future.

I am not necessarily referring to the worst day in your life.  Nothing extraordinarily bad had to happen on this particular day… it was just one of those days where everything seemed to be off.  It could have been an off day for a variety of reasons… everything from you just woke up with a bad attitude and nasty outlook on the day… you barked at every single person that came across your path (even those sweet littles that you love the most)… you ruined or burned every meal that you tried to serve that day… a day where it seemed that every person you encountered was against you (even complete strangers in line at the grocery store)… you know the day I am referring to….

I had one of those days last week.  I have no idea why and it seemed as if came out of left field.  By noon I really just wanted to get back in bed and start the day over.  I promise I tried to put myself in time out… but that only lasted about five seconds with having three kiddos in the house.  It was just a yucky day.  Nothing went right and I was not pleased with anyone that crossed my path.  (Poor hubby and kids) 🙂 As this particular day started winding down to an end (praise Jesus), the Lord brought His truth from scripture to my mind.  Lamentations 3:22-23.  He repeated to me over and over again that His mercies are new every morning and that tomorrow would be a new day.

Regardless of my attitude, my thoughts, my sin… He loved me despite all of that and desired to give me a fresh start the following day.  I could just imagine Him singing sweet love songs over me as I slept that night, preparing me for a new day and a fresh start!

Rather your day was one of “those” days because of some minor incident or it was because of some terrible catastrophe or major sin on your part…. accept His gift of new mercies.  Accept His love and singing over you.   Rest in the truth of His promises.  You are loved.  You are forgiven.  You are free!  His mercies are NEW every. single. morning! Can I get an Amen!

10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord) Matt Redman

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great, and Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find

And on that day when my strength is failing
The end draws near and my time has come
Still my soul will sing Your praise unending
Ten thousand years and then forevermore

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

Listen to 10,000 Reasons via the following link:

One thought on “New Mercies

  1. Katrina Tumlin

    I just have to say that I needed to hear that .. I love that verse too.. Thanks girly… and by the way congrats on the new addition.. Your kiddos are getting so big.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

