Freeze time

I stumbled upon an old journal from several years ago. I did not have a blog at the time so I just journaled my thoughts on paper. I would love to share a few of these “stories” with you over the next few posts and pray the Lord speaks to you through them.

7/30/09

I was rocking Emma Rose to sleep tonight and just didn’t want the moment to end. If I could have frozen time just then, I most definitely would have. She was all cuddled up on my shoulder, looking all cute and sweet. One of her hands were lying on my chest while the other was up on my shoulder. Just in between both of her hands was that adorable face of hers all scrunched up where her already rather large cheeks were looking even bigger as they were smooshed together. I could have just kissed her little face to pieces right then and there. I couldn’t stop staring at her and thanking Jesus for the wonderful blessing of my sweet baby girl. The angle that she was lying on me from my face actually hurt my neck and eyes to look down at her, but I just didn’t seem to care. I kept staring, and staring, and staring. Asking the Lord, although knowing He would not be able to, freeze time for me for just that moment.
Do you ever just want to “freeze time”? Life just seems to be speeding before so quickly. The days and nights seem to be getting shorter and shorter. I know in reality, they are not, but it sure seems like it. I wonder if most of that feeling is because we try and cram so much into our day that we are not able to get it all done. It only appears that the days are getting shorter because we are too busy. How would time feel if we just stood still for the day and did nothing but enjoy all that it had to offer? Don’t worry about the pile of laundry, the dishes that are still in the sink and dirty from last night, the spilt milk on the floor that is now so sticky you can barely mop it up. Just be still. Breathe, laugh, smile, relax, enjoy!
It is so hard to do just those five things previously mentioned, isn’t it? Let today be different than all the rest. Throw away your agenda and “to do” list and just let today take control of you instead of you taking control of today. Just let things be. Play with the kids, get down on their level, read a good book, take a nap, enjoy all that today has to offer. For just today….. freeze time!

Psalm 46:10 NIV: He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Leave a Reply

