Daddy

20130616-220340.jpg

My dad… words to describe him… Hmmm let’s see….

My dad was a rough and tough man.  He was short in stature but strong and steady.  He was a hard worker and did just that worked. hard.

When he wanted to have a good time, he certainly knew how to.  He was a man of few words.  Often, he was very spur of the moment and would take life with a “fly by the seat of your pants” mentality.  He set a great example of how to provide for his family.  He always wanted the best for his children and was very protective.

My dad had a hard time showing love through his words.  More often than not, he would choose to use words to tear down than to lift  up.  I don’t mean to make that last statement in any regards to disrespect my father… I know he loved, he just at times had a hard time expressing it.

Like most little girls, growing up, I often dreamed of the day when my daddy would walk me down the aisle and place my hand into the hand of my prince charming and bless us to live “happily ever after.”  However, for me, I often doubted that “the moment” would be filled with tears and words of endearment between the two of us because my dad was just not that mushy kind of father.  I knew he loved me but not being a man of many words… I didn’t think we would exchange sweet words and tears together on my wedding day.  Boy was I wrong!  One of the best memories with my father was on my wedding day.  I remember it as if it were yesterday.  As I stood in the foyer of the church, grinning from ear to ear and feeling like a princess in my wedding dress, my daddy came around the corner… took one glance at me and burst into tears.  It was such a precious moment that I will forever hold dear to my heart. Obviously his tears led to my shedding of tears.  The two of us stood there together in a cry fest.  It was wonderful.  A moment I had always dreamed of but never imagined would ever come true for me.  He looked at me and said  “Are you happy, baby?” I replied, “Yes daddy, I am very happy.”  And he said “Good, that was all I needed to know.”  We hugged, wiped away a few of our tears and my daddy walked me down the aisle and placed my hand into the hand of the wonderful man that I would live my “happily ever after” with.

Close to six years from my wedding day, the Lord called my dad home due to lung cancer.  On this special day that we all celebrate our father’s… I remember my dad… a man of few words… and those fond moments that we shared together.

One thought on “Daddy

Leave a Reply

