Ugly cry

My kiddos always look forward to attending Vacation Bible School (VBS) every summer. And this summer was no different. They actually attended two in one week, one in the morning and the other in the evening. The evening one ended up being not so enjoyable for my 6 year old. He didn’t seem overly joyful to attend and it unfortunately took me until day four to figure out why. (I will most definitely NOT be getting the mom of the year award for that one). 😦
You see, he doesn’t usually complain and is my “go with the flow” kid. However, on night 4 of VBS, his teacher offered to walk him to his class while I took the other 2 children to their rooms. He was reluctant to walk with her, but went along with that plan. After taking the other two to their class rooms, I felt the Spirit nudge me to peek in his room and check on him. I looked in the room and saw about 7 rows of chairs and the teacher at the front teaching the bible lesson. The first three rows were filled up with 6 yr olds (all girls)… The next three rows were empty… And there on the very last row with only one chair to that row… sat my sweet little guy all alone with his eyes full of tears. (Insert your own tears here). I took one look at him and my heart sunk. You see, my boy was all alone all week with a room full of girls. Being the only guy with a room full of girls might be the coolest thing on earth for a 16 year old…. But not so much when you are 6. I felt horrible. No wonder he was reluctant to go every night. What was going through his mind as he sat there all alone? Did he feel abandoned? Was he questioning my parenting skills and my love for him by making him go every night? My thoughts raced on and on.
He glanced over and saw me and his tears started flowing. I asked if he wanted to leave and he innocently shook his head “YES!” Poor guy. We got to the car and I just had myself a cry fest. I am not talking about a few tears… I mean that big ol’ ugly cry. I have a newborn, am sleep deprived and my hormones are raging so it was just a matter of time before that ugly cry bomb went off. Seeing my precious little one who never complains or speaks up for himself with tear filled eyes all alone was about all this mama could take.

I learned several lessons during this little cry fest over my little man.
1. Pay closer attention to my little people when they are hesitant to participate in something. (Hey, give me a little slack though… I had a 2 week old and was pulling “all nighters” at the time) πŸ™‚
2. Although it took me 4 days to realize it… I eventually came to my sons rescue. I love how our Heavenly Father always comes to our rescue. He doesn’t take days to figure it out though. Thank you Jesus for always hearing our cries and rescuing us in our times of need.

3. We are never alone. Although we may at times feel like we are… Like my son felt in this situation… In reality Jesus is always with us. The Word tells us that God will never leave us or forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:6).

I wonder if my little man learned a thing or two through this situation as well. The theme for the week was about facing fears and trusting God. That is exactly what he had to do in his room full of girls.
2 Timothy 1:7: For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

Thank you Jesus for always coming to our rescue. You are the true “super hero.” You are always near when we feel all alone or scared. You care for our every need and we can always trust in you. Thank you that we can place our little treasures into your hands and you will care for them.

Do you have a situation that you could share that led you to have that “ugly cry” moment or made you think you are NOT getting the parent of the year award?

Leave a Reply

