When doing nothing can be fun…

Do you have certain memories from your childhood, school days, family vacations etc. that are so random but are so clear in your mind as if they just occurred yesterday?

I remember a certain day in middle school so vividly. I was in Mrs. McQueen’s class for Math, which was also my lunch period (don’t ask me how in the world I still remember her name). She would always have a statement written on the board that we would have to journal about upon returning from lunch (not sure why we had to journal when she was my Math teacher… but we did).
On this certain day, written on the board were the words “When doing nothing can be fun…” She wanted us to talk about being bored??? What in the world! There is nothing fun about “doing nothing” to anyone under the age of 18. Anyone who falls under that age group would consider doing nothing, boring… with a capital B!!

I now know this first hand because I have three little ones of my own (well, I actually have four, but the youngest is too young to express his boredom with words). If I were given a dollar for every “I am bored,” I would be a wealthy woman! Kids/young people like to be active. They like to keep going. If they have nothing to do they easily complain that they are bored (insert capital B again).

I too used to fall right into that category and when Mrs. McQueen had that statement written in the board, all I wanted to write in my journal was the word NEVER. Back then, to me, doing nothing was NEVER, EVER fun. Fast forward a good 25 years and ask me that question and I would with my most enthusiastic voice give a resounding ALWAYS as my reply.

You see, I am a stay at home, homeschooling mom of four. Until today, I can’t remember the last opportunity I had to do nothing and especially over the past 5 months, as my husband has had to work 60-70 hours a week which means I am “solo mom” in doing the whole care for the kids and the house thing.

However… Today… For one hour… All of that changed. I had to drop my son off at the library for testing and my hubby is keeping the other children. I got to the library and thought “I think I’ll jut stay here.” I could go run errands, go back home and clean, go wash the car etc. but the idea of sitting, all alone in a quiet library seemed like the perfect plan to me. Man… Doing nothing… Sure. Is. Fun!

Okay, here goes… You knew I couldn’t leave you with just that. You knew I would end up throwing some form of biblical analogy/thought/idea into the post. 😄

Do you ever feel like you are “doing nothing” when it comes to building the Kingdom? Often times, we feel like we have to start a new ministry, go to a foreign country, or be a pastor to be considered one who “does something for Jesus.” Well… I want to let you in on a “known secret.” If you are a Christ follower… Regardless of where you are and what “job title” you have, you have the opportunity every single day to “do something.” We are called to be the light, the hands and feet of Jesus. Saying hello to the librarian or cashier at Target is “doing something.” Taking a meal to the mom of a newborn is “doing something.” Praying for someone else is “doing something.” Volunteering at a homeless shelter is “doing something.” Being the mother/father to your children, the grandparent to your grandchild, the aunt/uncle to your niece/nephew and pointing them to Christ is “doing something.” Rather you are the CEO of a company or have the lowest title in the company, you equally can “do something” and your job is your mission field. I love that whatever we do, if we do it for the glory of the Lord, we are “doing something.” We can go to the far side of the sea or we can just walk right out of our front door and we are able to do something for the kingdom of God!

I like to think of the saying “bloom where you are planted” with a kingdom mindset. Be used where He has you. Make a difference in the lives of those around you. Each day. Every day, we have the opportunity to go and do!

Being the mom of four makes “doing nothing” a lot of fun… But when it comes to the Kingdom “doing nothing” is no fun at all.

Matthew 5:16: “In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Acts 1:8: “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

Colossians 3:23-24: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

Leave a Reply

