… I shall not be in want

 

I shall not be in want. I shall not be in want. I shall not be in want…

Why? Why shouldn’t I be in want?

I mean, isn’t it just a natural part of flesh to want?

Babies certainly enter the world “wanting.” They may not be able to verbalize their want with words… but they make it very obvious as soon as those first few days of constant sleep are over. They cue and cry and make their parent very aware of the need to be fed, diaper changed, loved and nurtured.  And while at it… they do it in an adorable, you just want to give them everything they want because they are so precious… kind of way.

This carries on through toddler hood, childhood, adolescent- hood and sorry… but even adult hood… but that “they do it in an adorable, you want to give them everything they want… precious kind of way seems to decrease with every single year. 🙂

We all want. Unfortunately, those of us who are a part of the modern western culture have a “give me, give me, give me” mentality. I am not at all saying we are all selfish, never think of others, and are only consumers. Comparing to other parts of the world… most of us are truly in need of… well… nothing.

Our amazing pastor, Louie Giglio is preaching a mighty mean series on Goliath Must Fall.  A few weeks ago, he challenged those connected with Passion City Church to 40 days of daily reading over Psalm 23.  Well… since he demonstrated playing the audio version with the British Man’s accent on Bible Gateway… that is exactly what my hubby and I have been doing.  We feel like this unknown British fella is a part of our family now.  He reads over us every morning and at night before we go to bed… click… and Psalm 23 is read over us as we drift off into dream land.

Since I am immersing myself into this very popular Psalm… I thought  I might as well break it down verse by verse and blog about what the Holy Spirit is teaching me through it.

Psalm 23:1 has the exact answer to the above posed question… “why we should not be in want.”  The Lord is my Shepherd… I shall not be in want.

lack nothing… I have all that I need… there is nothing I lack… are all other translations way of stating the exact same thing.  He is our Shepherd…

If we can begin to train our minds on this concept… memorize this truth… and allow it to penetrate our heart… then we will slowly begin to be content people.

The next time we are quick to compare our lives to our neighbor and want what they have… say…

“The Lord is my Shepherd… I shall not be in want.”

The next time we want to make a purchase although we already have ten of something very similar at home… or our bank account says that we shouldn’t make that purchase… say…

“The Lord is my Shepherd… I have all that I need.”

The next time we log onto Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest etc. and suddenly feel that our personal lives no longer seem so glamorous because so-and-so seems to have it all together, makes the best meals, has the most obedient children… is living the dream life etc. say…

“The Lord is my Shepherd… there is nothing that I lack.”

IF:

IF He is our Shepherd… IF we live like we believe that… then… we are full, content and blessed.  We already have enough because HE IS OUR SHEPHERD! Will you let him shepherd you and your desires today?

Psalm 23

A psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,

he leads me beside quiet waters,

he refreshes my soul.

He guides me along the right paths

for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk

through the darkest valley,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me

all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord

forever.

Leave a Reply

