green pastures…

green-pasture-summer-1_00444059Life is busy. Life is loud. Life is crazy, hectic, chaotic… Life is…
Let’s just face it… we are all busy… it matters not if we hold the title of CEO of a large company… CEO of our home… or somewhere in between…it seems that as each day passes… life gets busier and busier.
Overbooked schedules (for ourselves and our children)
White noise from FB, IG, Twitter, phone calls, emails etc.
Daily chores, daily demands, doctor’s appointments, and meetings galore… and that is just the beginning of what could become quite a lengthy list of just how busy our days can become.

Just the other day… in the middle of MY busy… in the middle of my first attempt of cleaning/organizing my house after a summer of well… just playing and not focusing on the chores… in the middle of preparing for a new year of home school… I decided to stop what I was doing, sit down on the couch a watch a movie.  Normally “watching a movie” for me looks something like this  “Hey kids, let’s sit down and watch a movie”… they put a movie on… I sit in the living room “with them”… and I get a thousand things done…(computer work, fold the laundry, make out our weekly dinner menu, write a to do list etc. etc. etc.) while the kids watch the movie. I never, EVER just sit. and. watch. a. movie.

Well… this particular day was different. I put everything aside and just sat. I decided to introduce my children to a classic “Where the Red Fern Grows” (I do not recommend this movie for younger children). I loved reading the book as a child and thought we could make a great memory as a family watching this movie.
Y’all…. have you seen “Where the Red Fern Grows” lately?
25 years have passed since I last watched the movie or read the book.
Talk about S-L-O-O-O-O-W. This movie made my heart beat slower… I began to breathe a little slower… and my mind had to slow down in order to not race ahead of the movie. It took a second… but I LOVED IT!  Even the intro to the movie took five minutes longer than one of today’s era would.  I had to make myself stop and slow down in order to enjoy the movie because even in movies… our society is used to action, lights, color and a faster speed.

Boring to my children for the first half hour… YES… but it certainly taught them a much slower pace of life than we are acquainted with.
After getting accustomed to the slowness of the movie… it ends up that my children enjoyed watching it quite a bit. They also learned several valuable lessons on trusting God, being good stewards of their money, being generous to others… and my middle even learned how to chop down a tree. 🙂

A slower pace. A simpler life. In the middle of my every day crazy… it’s really what I want. I yearn to slow down. To simplify. To rest in the moment instead of racing as fast as I can past every single one.

I am “slowly” learning what God has to say about slowing down. Read what David has to say about resting in Psalm 23.

Psalm 23:2-3
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.

In the middle of the hustle and bustle… in the middle of over-scheduling and the crazy… let’s be quick to lie down in green pastures… rest in quiet waters… refresh our souls… and let the Lord guide our paths for HIS NAME SAKE.

We spent a few days with grandma and grandpa last weekend.  While there, on their beautiful land, it was so nice to rest in acres of green pastures…

blog pic 2 blog pic blog pic 3greenpastureswborder

 

photo credit (top pic): wallpoper.com; bottom pic (quaker.org)

Leave a Reply

