running with perseverance

running photo

Hebrews 12:1: “run with perseverance…”

Okay, many of you will probably shut your computer screen off and never read a single blog post from me ever again once you read the following statement…

I. HATE. RUNNING!!!  Okay, okay, maybe hate is a harsh word and one of the “no, no” words that my children are not allowed to use… so maybe I will exchange the word hate with loathe, detest, or scorn when it comes to the idea of running.  It’s not that I have yet to try and enjoy the popular means of exercise.  On many attempts, I have set out in my driveway to begin a new journey of running… and I get to my neighbors mailbox and am DONE.  I throw in the towel and start walking instead almost every time I set out to conquer the idea of running.  Now walking… even power walking… is something I am fond of.  But running, well as you just read… for me… is a different story.

I have several friends who absolutely LOVE to run.  My friend Leah and Lori are running buddies, they keep each other accountable in their running journey and have fallen in love with running.  My cousin Miki, has ran so many races that she usually gives away bags of t-shirts at our family reunion.  It seems that running is a very popular activity these days.

Perhaps I can’t relate to a passion and love for running like my friends and family members… but there is one thing that I am absolutely passionate about in terms of running and racing… and that is running towards Jesus, desiring to be more like Him, and persevering in my faith even when the going gets tough.

Philippians 3:12-14 (NIV):Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Hebrews 12:1 (NIV): Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us…

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 (NASB): Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win. Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified. 

 

Rather or not you have a love and passion for running marathons, half marathons, or just around your neighborhood for exercise… there is a race that as believers we are all running.  And the best news of all is that WE ALL WIN!!

The going may get tough.  There will be mountains high and valleys low… but we must persevere and keep running… keep our eyes on the goal… stand strong in the faith.

Just as runners need a good pair of running shoes, comfy sports attire and water to keep them hydrated… to stand strong in the Christian race… you need to be in community with other believers (church,fellowship), spend time in His word and pray!  How are you running your race?

 

2 thoughts on “running with perseverance

  1. Stacey Layden

    Great thoughts Heather! A relationship with Jesus Christ really is so much like running. It takes that perseverance and has great rewards. What’s tugging at me this morning is trying to make it a habit to get up earlier to spend quiet time with Him. I keep failing at it, but I am determined to persevere!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

