His favor rests…

“Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men in whom his favor rests.”

The above is a famous passage from the book of Luke.  Luke 2:14, to be exact.  Perhaps you read it, and are thinking… hmmm. “This passage sounds very familiar… but why?”  Well… let me give you a few clues… picture a tree… presents… family gatherings… a baby swaddled and lying in a manger… are you following me?  Christmas!!! This is a very famous scripture that appears on many a card during the Christmas season.

We are still months away from this celebratory day.  115 (ish) days to be exact…. but when I read this chapter from Luke recently…it was as if these words jumped off the page to me.  I felt a nudge from the Holy Spirit saying…
“Heather, rest in my favor daily.  Allow my peace to consume you 365 days of the year and not just on that one special day in December when all seems to be right in the world.”

When we realize His favor rests upon us and we allow His peace to consume us… we automatically bring glory to His name.  I have been challenged to rest in His peace… and to rest in His favor.

This past week I was able to experience this very same favor from God as He poured His love over my oldest son.  And the best part about it is that my son realized it too!

A few months ago, our family was invited to a Labor Day pool party at the home of one of my oldest son’s best friends (and some of our best friends too).  Initially, I thought the date of this party was the same day as our yearly family reunion/low country boil.  I reluctantly told my son that we were not going to be able to attend the pool party because our family function would have to come first.  Much to his dismay, he obliged to this decision.  As a few weeks passed… and as many days of my son begging me to change my mind passed… my husband brought it to my attention that the pool party was the day after the family reunion.  Woo Hoo! My son was beside himself with excitement!  He exclaimed “God loves me so much that I get to go to both the reunion and the pool party!”  (Yes He does little man, Yes He does!)… fast forward to the day of the family reunion… and the day before the pool party… my husband gets a text with an offer for 2 free NASCAR tickets for Sunday August 31st… (THE DAY OF THE POOL PARTY).  My oldest LOVES NASCAR so my husband wanted to take him to the race.  My son had a tough decision to make… NASCAR or the pool party… NASCAR or the pool party.  He even asked me what choice I thought he should make.  I told him that it would have to be his decision… but I was sure his friend would invite him over to swim some other time.

My husband saved the day when he told us the race was in the evening so we would be able to go to the pool party for a few hours prior to their leaving for the race.  God is sooo good and my little guy’s heart was full!  He rejoiced in the fact that God loved Him so much that He worked it out for him to attend the family reunion… pool party AND the race (and even blessed them with FREE NASCAR tickets).  The favor of the Lord rested upon my precious Jonah… and I am so glad my son felt this love.

Ephesians 3:18: grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ…

Thank you Jesus, that with his child like faith… my son realized that it was You all along behind each blessing as you opened up and allowed Your favor to rest upon him. 

I learned a lot from watching my son this past week.  I love that he acknowledged the Lord’s favor upon His life through this situation.  Reading it, yes… it may sound very small and not too life changing compared to most things in life… but for a 9 year old boy (and his mama) what God did for my son was HUGE!

I think the favor of God rests upon us much more than we even realize.  We often miss out on acknowledging His favor because we fail to rest in His peace.  I am beginning to see that His favor and His peace go hand- in- hand…. and when we rest in the middle of those two things…we bring glory to His name!

Luke 2:14: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men in whom his favor rests.”

Leave a Reply

