“Did you say Calamine?”

Recently, my little guy had a really bad diaper rash due to a few teeth that were trying their best to bud up through his gums.  Any of you with littles know that teething not only brings forth tears,  runny noses, sleepless nights (for baby and parents) but really yucky diaper changes as well.

When my older three were babies and would have really bad diaper rashes, I used to order this amazing cream that I was only able to locate online and it was rather expensive… but it sure did the trick!

Instead of waiting for the shipping time in ordering the amazing cream for my little guy, I decided to head over to a local “mom and pop” pharmacy located in our quaint little downtown square.  I knew it would be a possibility that they carried the same or a similar cream.

The sweet, and very young pharmacy assistant was very happy to help me search for such a cream.  Together, we were not able to locate it in the pharmacy, so she decided to go behind the counter and ask the Pharmacist.  With a smile on her face, she returned to take me on a search for the Pharmacist’s recommendation.  I was a little shocked when she led me to Calamine lotion.  Yes, Calamine lotion… the same pink “golden” liquid that you use when you have poison ivy  or had chicken pox as a kid.  It was around $3 (much cheaper than the fancy cream that I had ordered in the past)… and never in my life had I heard of using this for a diaper rash… not from generations before me, nursing school, my years as a pediatric nurse or through the time of diapering my 3 older kids.  Never… never, ever had I heard of using Calamine lotion… but for $3 and an elderly Pharmacist’s recommendation… I was game for giving it a try.

BUT…. I had one question for the young girl… “How do I put this liquid lotion on his diaper area?”  I just assumed perhaps it would run off and would not be easy to apply.  With a raised eyebrow, she looked rather confused herself and decide to once again head behind the counter to ask Mr. Pharmacist.  And I am sooooo thankful she did!

You see, upon returning… she explained to me that he had said Calmoseptine all along… not Calamine.  Now that made sense.  I was very familiar with Calmoseptine and had used it numerous times for wound care on my patients in the hospital.  Thankful and really ready to get out of this pharmacy… I paid for the Calmoseptine and headed home in hopes of clearing up my baby’s rash.  (And for those of you wondering if the Calmoseptine worked…. I answer with a resounding YES!!!…. and highly recommend it for any of your little’s sweet bottoms.)

So… is Calamine lotion a good thing? Yes.  Is there anything wrong with Calamine lotion? No.  When used appropriately, it is a very good thing.  However, is it the best choice for a diaper rash? No.  This little pharmacy mishap taught me a valuable lesson about my walk with the Lord.

How often do you spend our time, talents,energy or desires on a good thing… but perhaps not the BEST thing?  Do  you ever “serve” in such a way that is “good” but possibly not the way God truly intends for you to serve?  How often do you say YES to something… and that something is a good thing… but not the BEST thing?  With a Kingdom mindset… there are many good things… but what might be good for someone else is not the best for you.  Just like Calamine lotion is a good thing… but not the BEST lotion for a diaper rash.  Let’s be careful not to miss out on the BEST because we are quick to exchange it for good.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV) For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Psalm 136:1-9 (NIV)

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good.

His love endures forever.

Give thanks to the God of gods.

His love endures forever.

Give thanks to the Lord of lords:

His love endures forever.

to him who alone does great wonders,

His love endures forever.

who by his understanding made the heavens,

His love endures forever.

who spread out the earth upon the waters,

His love endures forever.

who made the great lights—

His love endures forever.

the sun to govern the day,

His love endures forever.

the moon and stars to govern the night;

His love endures forever.

Leave a Reply

