We believe

Do you believe in the power of prayer? 

Before I really even understood who Jesus was… I somehow knew how to pray. I witnessed prayer working in and through my life for as long as I can remember.

Because of Jesus at work, through many, many prayers… I have witnessed life, healing, provision, love, and safety among a multitude other miracles throughout my lifetime.  Prayer works. I have witnessed it. I believe in it!

Many sermons, prayer groups, prayer partners and books have been catalysts that have helped equip my belief in prayer. I am currently reading The Grave Robber by Mark Batterson. It’s a wonderful read. I have been reading sections of the book aloud to my family from time to time.  Today, I read about the third miracle Jesus performed while on Earth; the miracle of Jesus healing a lame man at the pool of Bethesda (JOHN 5:1-9). After reading, my fam and I started talking about miracles and discussed some things that we are believing in Jesus to do in and through our family.  And what transpired through this discussion was a beautiful memory that will forever be etched in my mind.  Such beauty that I just had to share it with you! 

We were gathered around our camper table, reading and discussing prayer and miracles.  We got out a paper plate (because that was the closest thing nearby to write on… And because we may or may not be out of notebook paper) and wrote down miracles that we, as a family, are trusting in God for. Some of these prayers are huge and others are simple. But to God… Every single one of them are possible (Matthew 19:26; Luke 1:37). After writing them down… We placed our hands over the plate…bowed our heads… Closed our eyes… And daddy prayed and surrendered these requests to the Lord. 

   

Big requests. Small requests. Big hands. Small hands… Six hands joined together in belief! Our girl was in my lap and all the boys were across the table, huddled up with daddy… I couldn’t help but peek and take a gander at these handsome loves… And the baby… Y’all… That little guy… The one who recently battled pneumonia and days later fell three steps out of the camper door… He is just a glimpse of a miracle himself… I know God protected his fall… Allowing his land to only require a fracture and a cast on his left leg.  Seeing him joining in with the rest of the gang… Tiniest of hand on the plate… Eyes closed… And believing… Without truly understanding what in the world he was doing… He was in the middle of belief with the rest of us. 

Bliss. Pure bliss. I believe with the rest of my people. I listened as daddy prayed, watched as the littles joined hand on hand… And with tears flowing down my face… Gathered with them in pure belief!

I share this story and these photos with you… Not for you to think “man, they have got it all together…” Because we don’t.  Not for you to compare your family to ours and think we pray more than your family does… Because I assure you, we don’t. And absolutely not to receive praise or applause.  Jesus! Only Jesus! To God be the glory forever and ever. I share this with you to encourage you to pray big prayers… To gather your people together and believe. To trust and have faith. God performs miracles. He wants to hear from you. He wants you to cry out to Him… Your every need big or small… Write them down… Pray them aloud… Keep them to yourself when you pray quietly in your room… However you want to express your belief… Express it. Be encouraged to pray. Prayer works. Pray and believe!! 

What are you believing God for? If you feel comfortable… Comment below and let me know how I can pray and believe on your behalf. Hey, and if you want… We will even wrote it down on our paper plate! 😉

If you would like to be encouraged in the area of prayer, I highly recommend the following great reads: 

Let Prayer Change Your Life by Becky Tirabassi

The Circle Maker or The Grave Robber by Mark Batterson 

Going Out On A Limb by Kim Moore and Heather Paul (I actually co-authored  this book several years ago with my college prayer partner) 

But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” ~ Matthew 19:26 ESV

 For nothing will be impossible with God. ~ Luke 1:37 ESV

Leave a Reply

