When I grow up…

What do you want to be when you grow up? 

If I were not on the other side of the screen but instead looking at you face to face and asked for a raise of hands of all who have ever had the above question asked of them… I assure you every hand would be raised. 

Such a big question. A question that really could make one ponder it’s answer. 

To be honest… I haven’t been faced with that question in a long, long time. But… If anyone were to ask it of me today, most assuredly,  my answer would be…

When I grow up I want to be just like my son Jonah Allen Paul. 

It’s the truth y’all!!! He is truly amazing!

And today, I’m not sure how in the world it happened… But he is an entire decade old. How can it be? It seems I blinked and he went from the adorably, squishy little infant to a 10 year old!!! 

  
 Two hands. It takes two complete hands for my boy to tell you his age.   
An entire decade of love. An entire decade of laughter. An entire decade of joy, joy, joy!!

He entered this world right on time at 11:19 pm on 5-5-05! Why? Because 5-6-05 just wouldn’t have been as exciting of a birth date! 

We have watched our young man blossom into the best first born we could have ever prayed for. 

He always watches out for and protects his younger siblings.  He takes charge and makes things run smoothly in the Paul household. He is smart, athletic, organized, thorough, on time and lives by the rules. He loves Jesus with all of his heart and shines the light of the Lord unto all of the world! His daddy and I often wonder how in the world the two of us created such an organized little leader… Perhaps our little lefty got those qualities from his lefty grandma! 🙂 

Jonah Allen Paul… I want to be just like you when I grow up! 

  
The Lord impressed upon my heart a scripture for each of our children.  1 John 3:1 is the verse we have claimed and pray over Jonah. 

1 John 3:1: How great is the love the Father has lavished upon us, that we shall be called children of God. 

Happy Birthday to our precious 10 year old! You fill our hearts with such joy and are a precious child of God! We have been blessed with a wonderful decade with you! 

  

           

  
  
    

    

   

     

Just before the clock strikes midnight on the dawn of my children’s birthdays, I like to tip toe into their rooms, kneel beside their beds and pray over them, thanking God for the gift of the treasure that has been bestowed upon me. I’m not gonna lie, my prayers are always lifted up with tears streaming down my face. So if you would excuse me, I’ve got a super duper 10 year old that I need to go cry… I mean pray over!  

     ❤️Happy Birthday Jonah! 1 John 3:1 ❤️

Leave a Reply

