little heather

“Mama, why does everybody call me little heather?” Says my mini me.

“Because you look just like me, little one.” Is always my reply.

 
   
 She looks like me

She acts a lot like me

Along with opening a bakery, she wants to be a nurse when she grows up because that’s what I am. 

She wants to homeschool her children one day, travel in an RV one day because she wants to be the exact same mommy that I am. 

She is my mini me.

As most of you know, we are a traveling family and travel the US in our RV with my husband and his job as an independent insurance adjuster, and along with that travel, we have visited many churches on Sunday mornings… And every time we go pick up my daughter, almost without checking our bracelets/number for child verification, they say “Oh, I know exactly which daughter is yours!”

God knit her together in my womb (Psalm 139:13-14) to look a lot like me. 

It is so much fun having a mini me.

I have three boys and 1 girl and am blessed beyond measure that she was “made in my image!” 

I have been studying the Nicene Creed for the past 3 weeks with IF Gathering. I have absolutely loved this study. (More info on this ministry and their new phone app is at the bottom of this post). 

Today, the lesson was about Jesus being from God, the Father.

The Nicene Creed says that He is, “God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God.” 

This is what the Word tells us about Jesus:

“He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature.”  (Hebrews 1:3)

“He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation.” (Colossians 1:15)

The Gospel of John tells us that whoever sees Jesus, sees God. And that Jesus says what the Father commands him to say. (John 12:44-50). 

When I spent time this morning basking in and studying these truths, I couldn’t help but picture Jesus saying some of the same things as he walked on Earth about God the Father as my mini me says about me.  With the main difference being that Jesus was and is God the Father.

  • Jesus walked where His Father instructed Him to walk.
  • Jesus spoke the words His father instructed Him to speak.
  • Jesus looked like and acted just like His Father because He was made in the image of His Father. 

  

And just like my little girl looks like me, and wants to act and be like me…

Jesus looks like and acts like His Father.

And by this I am encouraged to strive to be, look and act like Jesus!

  • When people look at me I want them to see Jesus.
  • I want the words I speak to bring life not death, to build up and not tear down. 
  • I want to follow the path my Father has prepared for me in advance by following in His footsteps.

Jesus was made in God’s image and that’s the image I want to strive for.

Jesus is the radiance of the glory of God and I want to shine the same glory.

Jesus: God from God, light from light, true God from true God.

… Made in the image of the Father…

And for more info on IF:Equip…

Go to http://www.ifequip.com to receive the studies online 

or download their brand new app (IF GATHERING APP) on your iPhone or android! 

IF:equip is a wonderful online community that helps you “gather around God’s word every day to be equipped to live out your calling.”  

 
And here’s a pic of me and my mini me with all of our boys!    


 

4 thoughts on “little heather

Leave a Reply

