Is our choice to homeschool ruining our kids lives?

“You have HOW many kids?”

“Really, and they are ALL yours?”

“You know what causes this don’t you?”

“And you homeschool?”

“Seriously, they aren’t gonna be socialized if they aren’t in real school.”

“How long do you plan on homeschooling?”

“There’s no way you can continue this when they get to high school.”

“You did what??”

“Are you crazy? You rented out your home and now travel in a home on wheels?”

“What about all of your things? You need your stuff.”

“And what about the kids toys? I just feel so bad for them without all of their toys.”

“So you mean to tell me you roadschool? Like you travel the US while teaching your children?”

“And you chose this life? Like it wasn’t just bad luck that you and your family ended up this way?”

“No way girl. Not me. I wouldn’t want your life. You must be a much better mom and wife than I am because I certainly wouldn’t say yes to what you have said yes to.”

Those are real statements that I have had spoken over me. True story.  

But thankfully, those words have never come from those who mean the most to us; from those who are most important in our lives. Our friends and family have always applauded us, cheered for us, encouraged us and rallied us along during all of our “crazy” choices to have more than the traditional 2 children, homeschool (and now roadschool) our kids, rent out our 4K sq ft home and trade it for a 4 hundred sq ft home on wheels.  Perhaps some of them have thought some of the above comments but have never acted on them or judged us in any way. And for that, we are grateful. 
Those words may have come from acquaintances and complete strangers… But in reality, the enemy speaks those same thoughts (lies. All lies) over me almost every day. 

The enemy wants me to believe that I am crazy…

That I can’t handle having 4 kids… And the idea to foster/adopt a slew of them one day when we stop traveling is even crazier. 

That I am incapable of homeschooling our children. 

That they are going to grow up dumb and not be able to function in society. 

That I am ruining their lives and future of ever obtaining a college acceptance letter or even a job for that matter.

That I am the worst mom and teacher ever.

That living in a camper is completely insane and that yes, they need their toys and I need more stuff. 

Lies. All lies. 

Because when I scrolled back through my paul6homeschool 2015/16 school year hashtag on IG…

I saw life

I saw love

I saw learning

I saw creativity

I saw smiles

I saw growth

I saw adventure

I saw 4 children creating memories and dreaming dreams that could never be accomplished if we did life any other way. 

These kids have schooled in about 38 States, too many national and State parks to count, numerous museums and aquariums, and tons of libraries.  

Book work? Yes, they did book work. 180 Math lessons to be exact. Yes, they read books and sat through many grammar lessons. Yes, they are up to par in comparison with others in their age group… 

But those things pale in comaparison to the journey and adventures made. Nothing can top going to the top of the Empire State Building, putting their hands on the real Plymouth Rock, studying mammals and wild life at Yellow Stone National Park, being in awe of the Grand Tetons,  doing their copy work down by the river in Colorado, learning all about sea life in Florida, fishing in the Great Lakes or learning all of the US State capitals by actually putting their feet on the ground in those states instead of only staring at a map.

So get behind me Satan. Move over. This mama and her 4 munchkins (along with their hard working daddy) are exactly where God wants us to be. He’s got this! He’s leading the way, guiding our path, and as we lean into Him… We will follow whichever path He has designed for us. We will take the good days with the bad and make lasting memories. 

“You have 4 kids, live in a camper and roadschool by choice?” 

Yes, yes I do. 

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

 Here’s a little glimpse into their homeschool journey this past year.   

    
    
   
So if you are a homeschooling, Roadschooling, unschooling whatever you want to call it schooling mom… Stand strong. Hold your head high. March forward. Press on. And trust the plan God has mapped out for you.

You are strong and courageous.

You are more than conquerors.

You are free from keeping up with the Jones’ and living a cookie cutter life. 

You can be different and look different and go against the norm. 

Stop comparing your life to those around you and stare straight at Jesus, keeping your eyes on Him and He will not let you down. He’s got this. And so do YOU! 

If homeschooling is what God has called you to… Then Go FOR IT!

No. You are not ruining your kids lives… And neither am I. 
Psalm 127.3: “children are a heritage from the Lord. “

Proverbs 22.6: “train a child up in the way he should go… “

Philippians 4.13: “i can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” 

Proverbs 3.5-6: “trust in the Lord with all of your heart…”

Romans 8.37: “we are more than conquers through Him who loves us!” 


10 thoughts on “Is our choice to homeschool ruining our kids lives?

  1. Lana Herzan

    So blessed by your words. Really needed to run across this as I was going through e-mails.

    I smiled, prayed for you and your family, was encouraged and God brought many scriptures to mind how we are MORE than conquerors in this precious time of our life!!!

    I haven’t been on IG in months!!!! YOU and a very small group of people were the only ones that brought pure joy and delight when I saw your posts!! So many crazy, wonderful things happening.

    How I would love to sit around the campfire with you, Heather, with a cup of tea in one hand, our bible in the other and share, laugh, cry, pray and build each other up. I may never meet you face to face in this life, however, we will know each other for all of ETERNITY….and remember….the best is yet to come!!!!!!!!!!

    May God bless you with refreshment, encouragement and the joy of a family in love with Jesus and being guided by Him!!

    You are loved, sweet sister!

    Your fellow road schooling mama, living simply and holding unto nothing but our Savior, Lana

    >

    Reply
    1. heather paul Post author

      Lana! My heart is always filled with joy when I hear from you!!! I truly pray our paths cross in real life and we do get to have that bible study, chat time, campfire. What a joy that would be!!! You are in my prayers sweet sister!! Love our bond in Christ!

      Reply
  2. jUsTmEmUsInGs

    I absolutely love your post! I get so tired of the negativity about homeschool! I would love to roadschool. It sounds so awesome! Please continue to post and show pics. I have 3 I am homeschooling, and we can just watch you as a group. We will be praying for you on your awesome adventure!

    Divahomeschool 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sara Wilson

    AMEN! I love the, “get behind me satan”. So true that we need to be aware that those negative things/words are from the devil. Homeschooling is such a blessing and is so natural and what I believe God wants for our family as well. God bless you sister in Christ!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

