Brown eyed girl

I can’t believe I have my very own brown eyed girl. 

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to be a mommy… my desire was to have four boys and one girl, to be exact. 


And the Lord saw fit to just about fill my quiver with my ❤️ desire. Psalm 37:4

I have three amazing boys and one phenomenal little girl. I also have a tiny treasure in Heaven… So we must wait til we are all united to find out if that little arrow is a boy or girl.

My desire to have only one daughter was quite a selfish one, if I’m honest. 

I didn’t want to have to share.

I didn’t want to have to shop, or dine or vacation with more than one darling daughter. 

I didn’t want to have to watch her and her sister grow up and do things without me…

So selfishly, I wanted just one little girl to have for me, just me. 

Now that makes me sounds just plain rude, doesn’t it? And obviously I would have been estatic with a house full of girls… And obviously, I think it’s lovely and grand for those of you who have more than one daughter. Girls are amazing! And now that I have one of my very own… I wouldn’t mind having an entire slew of them (until it was time to pay for those weddings 😉).  Being a girl mom is the best! 

I can still hear the words “it’s a girl” ringing loud and clear in my ears from the doctor who helped bring her into this world.  From the moment the delivery nurse laid my beautiful one in my arms… I was smitten with pink, frills and bows. 

I have my very own brown eyed girl. With the exception of those eyes… She is my mini me! Life is so fun with her in it! She is 50% girlie girl and 50% tomboy just like her mama. She is an absolute delight and today we celebrate our sweet Emma Rose turning 8! 

Her heart is one of gold. She is kind and tender and will be the first one to cry if a sad movie is on or one of her siblings is being disciplined. 

And she has made my heart wide open to the desire to bring other little children into our home. Our family desires to open a home for foster children/orphan care in the future and I know she will be on the front lines of making this ministry a success.

A few weeks ago, our traveling family had the blessing of hearing an international choir sing at the church we were attending in Colorado. After the concert, you could sign up to sponsor a child from a third world country through Compassion International. I asked Emma Rose to pray and pick out the child the Lord impressed upon her heart. She was very tendered to this one particular little girl named Norley from Ecuador.

I filled out the forms, gave my initial donation, and this little girl became our sponsored child. 

The moment Emma Rose found out that we were not bringing this little one home with us she was devastated. With tears in her eyes, she exclaimed “but mama, I thought she was coming home with us tonight. I didn’t know how we would fit her in our camper, but I was ready to share my bunk with her.” 

Such a precious heart! Emma Rose, you never know what God has in store. He just might bring little Norley to our home one day… And if not Norley,  I assure you He will one day fill our home with lots of giggles and laughter from other sweet little girls that He desires us to open our doors to when the time is just right to open our desired ministry. 

And if your heart wasn’t already big enough… Just last week you told me you wanted to gather all of your money, and any money you received for your birthday to buy gifts for children in the U.S. and other countries who aren’t as blessed. You shine the light of Jesus better than anyone I know (Matthew 5:16)!

Happy birthday darling daughter. You love big and we adore you! May blessings upon blessings be bestowed upon our brown eyed beauty! 

Psalm 37:4 is the verse I have claimed over you since the moment I knew you were in my womb…

“Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” 




2 thoughts on “Brown eyed girl

Leave a Reply

