Wonderfully made…

Psalm 139 is one of my most favorite Psalms. 

I remember memorizing it with a Bible study group I was a part of in college.

But I absolutely began to hold it near and dear to my heart when I was pregnant with my second child, Jacob Avery. 

I claimed a particular scripture over each of my children while they were in my womb and Psalm 139:14 was the one the Lord impressed upon my heart for my Jacob.

He turned 10 this past year and I can’t even believe he is now double digits! My, oh my how time flies! I try and blog around my kiddos birthdays but Nov and Dec were very crazy travel months for our family and I have yet to blog about my little 10 year old sweetie. 

I just love him to pieces. He has the biggest heart! He loves Jesus something fierce… and wears a cross necklace around his neck daily! He is strong, tough and athletic. He doesn’t conform to the pattern of this world… he is true to his cowboy ways… rather we are in NYC, Boston, Wyoming, Colorado or Texas… you will find him sticking with his cowboy attire regardless of the way others around him dress. We could all learn a thing or two from that example!


We happened to be in Georgia during the time of his birthday so we turned his celebration into a birthday week and had lots of fun with family and friends throughout the week. 

And we are really all about experiences instead of things for gifts around here since there are 6 of us and we live in a tiny space. So…. his favorite team, the Georgia Bulldogs, just happened to play on the day of his actual birthday so we snagged some tix and surprised him with a day trip to Athens! Go Dawgs!!

Prior to our trip to the South, our traveling life landed us 4 months in Colorado and it was amazing! While there we had the opportunity to visit the Great Sand Dunes National Park!


We actually went for my hubbys birthday! Again, experiences not things. Sand galore!!!! We had a blast! 


One of my favorite memories there was when my son mentioned that all of this sand reminded him of the verse in Psalm 139 where it speaks of the Lord’s thoughts towards us outnumbering the grains of sand. 


Psalm 139:1-18:

“You have searched me, Lord, 

and you know me. 

You know when I sit and when I rise;

 you perceive my thoughts from afar. 

You discern my going out and my lying down;

 you are familiar with all my ways.

Before a word is on my tongue

    you, Lord, know it completely.

You hem me in behind and before,

    and you lay your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,

    too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?

    Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

    if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me,

    your right hand will hold me fast.

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me

    and the light become night around me,”

even the darkness will not be dark to you;

    the night will shine like the day,

    for darkness is as light to you.

For you created my inmost being;

    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

    your works are wonderful,

    I know that full well.

My frame was not hidden from you

    when I was made in the secret place,

    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes saw my unformed body;

    all the days ordained for me were written in your book

    before one of them came to be.

How precious to me are your thoughts, God!

    How vast is the sum of them!

Were I to count them,

    they would outnumber the grains of sand—

    when I awake, I am still with you.” 

Yes! I love when scripture clicks for them and they apply to every day life! The word of God really is live and active! 


The Lord has a beautiful story already written for each of our lives. From conception to death… He has a plan! 

I wanted to end this post with a little art I doodled in my journaling Bible on Psalm 139. 

My daughter and I were playing a game of Old Maid and loved the characters on the cards so much that we decided to draw them! 

I picked a boy and a girl to represent my 4 arrows! I praise the Lord for these 4. They are absolutely amazing gifts the Lord has entrusted to me and my hubby. 

2 thoughts on “Wonderfully made…

  1. malcolmtalley

    Love the post, and love the fact that Jacob wears his cowboy gear no matter what others around are wearing. I do that myself, sometimes. As an adult, people are more prone to say something but I’ve gotten past worrying about what they might think and wear what I want proudly. (Love that big belt buckle, too.)

    Reply
    1. heather paul Post author

      It’s great to be true to who you are!!! And even more kudos to him for wearing the big belt buckle! It was his daddy’s when his daddy was younger! And thanks for the comment! Be blessed!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

